AGE-ADJUSTED CLUB CHAMPIONSHIP

 

This championship aims to reward effort rather than outright speed.  Actual race times are adjusted for age, so that older runners get their times reduced to what it is calculated they would have achieved in their prime.  The adjustments are made using an online age-graded results calculator.  The effects donít cut in until around 35, so if you are younger than this, your times wonít change.  The age-adjusted times are used to put runners in a revised race order.  Points are then assigned according to this order (1 point for first, 2 for second, and so on).  The championship is based around 12 local races, roughly one each month as well as your best 5K and marathon for the year.  You must have participated in (and finished) at least 5 of the events to qualify.  Points from your best 5 race results are then added up, and the lower your overall total is, the better you have done.  There are separate bunny rabbit awards for the three best men and three best women. 

 

Please submit your best 5K and marathon times as and when they happen to results@dorsetdoddlers.org  and/or message Jane Ward so that they can be kept updated throughout the year.

 

The races for 2019 are: 

 

Sun 3th February

Blackmore Vale Half

Sun 3rd March

Sun 31st March

Sun 14th April

Sherborne 10k

Yeovil Half

Marnhull 12k

Thurs 18th April

Broad Oak Hilly (4 miles)

Sun 25th May

Egdon Easy 10K

Sun 23rd June

Lulworth Castle 10k

Sun 21st September

Camelot Challenge

Sun 13th October

Gold Hill 10k

Sun 3rd November

New Forest Stinger 10 miles

Sun 17th November

Wimborne 10 miles

Thurs 5th December

Sturminster 5 miles

7 Dec 2018 to 5 Dec 2019

Any 5K race or parkrun

7 Dec 2018 to 5 Dec 2019

Any Marathon

 

See here for the detailed results for 2019 and here for the overall 2019 results table

 

See here for the detailed results for 2018 and here for the overall 2018 results table
 

 See here for previous yearsí winners.